North Down Council election results

On Monday 9 May 2011 six Alliance Party Councillors were elected to North Down Borough Council including Larry Thompson and I for the Holywood District Electoral Area, Anne Wilson and Tony Hill for Bangor West, Michael Bower for Abbey and Christine Bower for Ballyholme and Groomsport.

Contact details for your new Alliance Councillors can be found at

Full results for all District Electoral Areas can be found at http://www.spectatornewspapers.co.uk/news-and-events.asp?id=1467


Votes 4,436

76 invalid

Total valid 4360

47.03% Turnout

Quota 727

John Barry, Green, 525

Gordon Dunne, DUP, 1081 (elected)

Jennifer Gilmour, DUP, 252 (elected)

Gillian McGimpsey, UUP, 250

Ellie McKay, UUP, 675 (elected)

Andrew Muir, Alliance, 991 (elected)

David O´Callaghan, Conservative and Unionist 185

Larry Thompson, Alliance, 401 (elected)

First stage, deemed elected. Dunne and Muir.

After second stage, McKay elected

After third stage, McGimpsey, O´Callaghan eliminated

After fourth stage, Thompson elected

Final stage, Gilmour elected